zeovit.com Korallenzucht  

Go Back   zeovit.com > General Discussion Forums - International > General Discussion - English

General Discussion - English General Marine Aquaria Discussion with and without ZEOVit.

Active Threads
0 BARIO too high
Last Post: zebra
Posted On: Today
Replies: 5
Views: 168
0 Planning Things Out
Last Post: clarity1981
Posted On: Today
Replies: 0
Views: 28
0 Planning new tank - Need advice
Last Post: liostar
Posted On: Today
Replies: 18
Views: 1,066
0 Doubts guide on zeovit.
Last Post: blueyedson
Posted On: Today
Replies: 24
Views: 1,282
0 Finally ready to start :)
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: Today
Replies: 48
Views: 2,088
0 new 75 gallon tank
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: Today
Replies: 14
Views: 623
0 NEW VID & GIVEAWAY AutoAqua Smart Temp Security
Last Post: Premiumaq
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 1
Views: 217
0 NEW VID & GIVEAWAY: IceCap 1k Gyre Flow Pump
Last Post: Premiumaq
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 1
Views: 281
0 180 Convert to Zeo from Turf Scrubber
Last Post: ohashimz
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 114
Views: 4,282
0 Problem with the dosing pump - Zeostar 3
Last Post: zebra
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 6
Views: 341
More...
  #61  
Old 04-05-2018, 08:39 PM
65GMe 65GMe 目前線上
Almost a ZEOhead
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: .ca
Posts: 103
Default

Absolutely, that's why I opened it up to remove some since I couldn't see the bottle of the reactor anymore. I thought it was going to be more filled than that but I guess the inlet at the bottom of the reactor pushing the algae up and off to the side a bit.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 04-06-2018, 08:04 PM
65GMe 65GMe 目前線上
Almost a ZEOhead
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: .ca
Posts: 103
Default

Po4 test result as of today .11. Hoping to finally be able to use all the products I have on hand. I have only been using the basics but I pretty much all the majority of the zeovit line.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 04-06-2018, 08:55 PM
65GMe 65GMe 目前線上
Almost a ZEOhead
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: .ca
Posts: 103
Default

Question, does chaeto continue to pull nutrients even if the lights are off? Asking because once no3 and po4 gets low enough, I want to try running the algae reactor with the lights off to see if nutrients rise or stay low. If chaeto doesn't pull nutrients when lights are off, I could assume that the zeovit reactor is keeping nutrients low right? Please correct me if I am wrong.

My plan is to remove the algae reactor if nutrients remain low with just the zeovit reactor. I think it will be cheaper electricity wise because I need a pump and the leds lights for the algae reactor vs. just a pump for the zeovit reactor and having the vibe turn on two times a day for one minute each time.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 04-06-2018, 09:34 PM
ohashimz ohashimz 目前線上
ZEOhead
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 65GMe View Post
Question, does chaeto continue to pull nutrients even if the lights are off? Asking because once no3 and po4 gets low enough, I want to try running the algae reactor with the lights off to see if nutrients rise or stay low. If chaeto doesn't pull nutrients when lights are off, I could assume that the zeovit reactor is keeping nutrients low right? Please correct me if I am wrong.

My plan is to remove the algae reactor if nutrients remain low with just the zeovit reactor. I think it will be cheaper electricity wise because I need a pump and the leds lights for the algae reactor vs. just a pump for the zeovit reactor and having the vibe turn on two times a day for one minute each time.
With low po4 no3 u need good light. Without light chaetos will die off regardless of how high or low ur po4 no3.
I run kessil om my chato reactor. Before that chaetos die off alot because my system was unls

Actually just a piece of advice, I do not think your po4 reduction is because of the chatoes. It's because of your water changes and the fact that zeo system is working.

Why am saying this is just to give you a heads up from thinking chaeto reactor can handle your system alone. Unless you have much much more chateos than what you showed the chato reactor will just help with the nutrient reduction rather than being the main source of the reduction. So when you start adding more supplements be careful and do it slow so you do not crash your zeo system that is getting established now.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 04-06-2018, 11:58 PM
65GMe 65GMe 目前線上
Almost a ZEOhead
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: .ca
Posts: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ohashimz View Post
With low po4 no3 u need good light. Without light chaetos will die off regardless of how high or low ur po4 no3.
I run kessil om my chato reactor. Before that chaetos die off alot because my system was unls

Actually just a piece of advice, I do not think your po4 reduction is because of the chatoes. It's because of your water changes and the fact that zeo system is working.

Why am saying this is just to give you a heads up from thinking chaeto reactor can handle your system alone. Unless you have much much more chateos than what you showed the chato reactor will just help with the nutrient reduction rather than being the main source of the reduction. So when you start adding more supplements be careful and do it slow so you do not crash your zeo system that is getting established now.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

I stopped doing the automatic water changes because I did not see any reduction in nutrients after changing out 100 gallons. I say the algae reactor is the one lowering the nutrients because the very next day after putting the algae reactor online, nutrients came down and have been lowering ever since. Very possible that zeovit also kicked in at the same time the algae reactor went online, absolutely possible. That's why I am asking if chaeto will continue to remove nutrients even with the light off in the reactor so I can see if zeovit is working good and remove the reactor. I don't want to remove the algae reactor only to find out it was indeed the algae reactor lowering and keeping the nutrients low. I don't want to repeat the same mistake when I started up zeovit. I believe an algae reactor is very efficient at reducing nutrients.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 04-07-2018, 12:00 AM
ohashimz ohashimz 目前線上
ZEOhead
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 65GMe View Post
I stopped doing the automatic water changes because I did not see any reduction in nutrients after changing out 100 gallons. I say the algae reactor is the one lowering the nutrients because the very next day after putting the algae reactor online, nutrients came down and have been lowering ever since. Very possible that zeovit also kicked in at the same time the algae reactor went online, absolutely possible. That's why I am asking if chaeto will continue to remove nutrients even with the light off in the reactor so I can see if zeovit is working good and remove the reactor. I don't want to remove the algae reactor only to find out it was indeed the algae reactor lowering and keeping the nutrients low. I don't want to repeat the same mistake when I started up zeovit. I believe an algae reactor is very efficient at reducing nutrients.
I answerd at the start of my post. Chaetos will not grow without light regardless of your no3 po4 levels.
You need light..

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 04-07-2018, 12:45 AM
65GMe 65GMe 目前線上
Almost a ZEOhead
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: .ca
Posts: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ohashimz View Post
I answerd at the start of my post. Chaetos will not grow without light regardless of your no3 po4 levels.
You need light..

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
I missed that for some reason, thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.8.7, Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright by ZeoVit.com