zeovit.com Aquariumspeciality  

Go Back   zeovit.com > General Discussion Forums - International > General Discussion - English

General Discussion - English General Marine Aquaria Discussion with and without ZEOVit.

Active Threads
0 Zeovit - brown bottom
Last Post: jluk
Posted On: Today
Replies: 0
Views: 3
0 Wechsel auf Zeovit - Werte zu hoch
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: Today
Replies: 3
Views: 68
0 Using Zeolites only, no dosing
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: Today
Replies: 6
Views: 157
0 new to zeovit
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: Today
Replies: 17
Views: 772
0 Phosphate in Zeo Life
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: Today
Replies: 1
Views: 40
0 Increase in PO4 and Nitrates
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: Today
Replies: 6
Views: 152
0 Growth
Last Post: Dzeo
Posted On: Today
Replies: 8
Views: 263
0 Planning Things Out
Last Post: ohashimz
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 9
Views: 269
0 New* Zeovit Guide Easy Reefing ENGLISH !
Last Post: ohashimz
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 4
Views: 408
0 A restart
Last Post: blackizzz
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 3
Views: 112
More...
  #1  
Old 03-16-2018, 08:55 AM
cflow cflow 目前離線
ZEOhead
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 396
Default Removing sand

My sump has an area that's similar to a refugium with sand and LR. I built it myself with a compartment for an ato built in. Unfortunately this was my first acrylic project and the seam of the ato was bad and cracked. I need to remove the entire sump to repair this section. I'm worried about disturbing the sand bed in the sump for the repair but ut absolutely needs to be done. I want to remove the sand all together. Can i just remove it all at the same time? It isn't a huge amount and the dt has its own sand bed.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2018, 05:41 PM
Michal's Avatar
Michal Michal 目前線上
TeamZeoVit
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: reefclub.pl
Posts: 546
Default

Hi cflow,

just switch off return pump, remove water, remove sand, take the sump out.
Since sand is in your sump there is no danger that removing it will release something into the water column.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2018, 08:35 PM
cflow cflow 目前離線
ZEOhead
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 396
Default

Im concerned that if i remove it all at once it might effect the biology and if i remove it slowly I'll be releasing bad junk into the water column. It definitely would be easier to remove it all at once.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2018, 10:57 PM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 34,427
Default

Alternatively you can vacuum it out while doing the regular water changes in two steps.

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.8.7, Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright by ZeoVit.com