zeovit.com EcoTech Marine LLC  

Go Back   zeovit.com > General Discussion Forums - International > General Discussion - English

General Discussion - English General Marine Aquaria Discussion with and without ZEOVit.

Active Threads
0 35% OFF Salifert, 30% OFF Rossmont, 10% OFF Bashsea & more!
Last Post: Premiumaq
Posted On: Today
Replies: 0
Views: 3
0 Phosphate Issue
Last Post: rchavez
Posted On: Today
Replies: 10
Views: 198
0 Reef Hommi
Last Post: Hommi
Posted On: Today
Replies: 139
Views: 10,191
0 180 Convert to Zeo from Turf Scrubber
Last Post: gguertin145
Posted On: Today
Replies: 27
Views: 593
0 How to swich to ZeoVit
Last Post: marcin_c
Posted On: Today
Replies: 29
Views: 647
0 My 5 years tank - Help starting ZEOvit
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: Today
Replies: 22
Views: 824
10 My new "Texas 210 Gallon"
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: Today
Replies: 52
Views: 1,716
0 Low nitrates low Po4
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: Today
Replies: 7
Views: 172
0 This is really lovely
Last Post: HelenMancuso
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 4
Views: 969
0 Mein Deltariff...
Last Post: chrima78
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 62
Views: 4,464
More...
  #1  
Old 11-14-2017, 02:52 PM
rchavez rchavez 目前線上
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 25
Default Phosphate Issue

Hello, long time Zeovit user and for last few months I have had a phosphate reading of .14 to .18. I have never had any issue with phosphate or nitrate. I have replaced all zeovit products and have done extra water changes with no change. I do have a large fish bio load in my 65 rimless reef. 8 total fish. Assuming my fish bio load is to high, can I just add more zeolites to my filter to help reduce phosphates? Increase Zeostart 3 dosage or increase the water flow through my Zeovit filter?
Looking for help.
Thanks!
Roland
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-14-2017, 03:42 PM
Bugger's Avatar
Bugger Bugger 目前線上
ZEOdabbler
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 931
Default

Roland are you testing phosphate with a hanna?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-14-2017, 06:57 PM
rchavez rchavez 目前線上
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 25
Default

Yes.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2017, 07:31 PM
Bugger's Avatar
Bugger Bugger 目前線上
ZEOdabbler
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 931
Default

Get new glass test tubes it is likely yours have been compromised. If you leave the powder in for to long the glass stains after a while of use the device will give high readings
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2017, 12:51 PM
rchavez rchavez 目前線上
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 25
Default

Interesting, I will use a different glass tube. I have used the same one for quite some time.
I’ll give it a try tonight!
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-20-2017, 12:07 PM
rchavez rchavez 目前線上
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 25
Default

Tested Phosphate using a new and old glass tube. Both tubes tested the same.

Re-asking question:
If my fish bio load is to high can I increase the amount of Zeostart 3, Zeo Bacteria, zeolites or water flow through reactor to help reduce phosphate levels.
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-20-2017, 02:02 PM
Bugger's Avatar
Bugger Bugger 目前線上
ZEOdabbler
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 931
Default

Well Rats if you add more stones you risk bleach out if you add more start you rick cloudy water. Your only option is more bacteria or reduce the amount of fish
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Yesterday, 05:19 AM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 33,833
Default

Hello Roland, please provide some more information about your system:

http://www.zeovit.com/forums/showthread.php?t=14

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Yesterday, 07:39 PM
rchavez rchavez 目前線上
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 25
Default

Sure!

1. Gross water volume of your complete system (incl. sump etc.) - 94 US gallons
2. Net water volume (incl. sump etc.) - 65 US gallons
3. Are you using a CaCO2 reactor or other technique No
4. Are you using a PO4 reactor (how long, how long ago, etc.) No
5. Are you using Ozone No
6. Are you using UV No
7. What skimmer are you using (type, rated water volume) SWC 160, 180 gal heavily stocked tank
8. What are your actual PO4 and NO3 levels P04 = .17, N03 = 10 ppm
9. What are your actual Ca, Alk and Mg levels Ca 410, Alk 7.38, Mg 1350
10. What filtration method do you use (refugium, DSB, Miracle Mud, etc.) Full Zeovit
11. Type of light (Watt, color temp, how old, etc.) 8 Bulb ATI T5 Sunpower
12. What corals do you keep Heavy SPS, some torchs and a clam
13. Tissue color (light or dark) medium, not pastel or super dark
14. How long has the tank been running 3yrs
15. Why do you want to use the ZEOvit system Pastel colors
16. Any supplemental dosing (type, amount, why, etc.) Zeospur 2, Coral Vital, Sponge Power, Coral Snow, Acropower
17. Live rock (how much, how old, etc.) 25-30 lbs
18. Any present problems- just high phosphates. I have not be dosing extra supplements listed above sine my phosphates have been high. (3-4?months)
19. Problem description (tissue loss tips, tissue loss base, diatom bloom, algae, etc.) High phosphates
20. What test kit do you use (how old, recently switched, etc.) Hanna Checker for Alk and P04, Salifert for Cal, Elos for Mg
21. Present dosing, amounts and intervals (ZEOvit, ZEObak, ZEOfood, ZEOstart, ZEOspur2, etc.) Not dosing at present time. 3 drops Zeostart 3 twice daily, Zeobacter 3-5 drops twice a week.
22. Other water parameters and water stability (salinity, temp, etc.) Salinity 1.025, Temp 77-81
23. Which salt brand do you use Instant Ocean

Here you go!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Today, 03:14 AM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 33,833
Default

Thank you is there any special reason why you just dose 3 drops ZeoStart 2 x daily ?

Please also post the ZeoVit quantity you use and measure the flow through your reactor to see if it is to low.

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old Today, 10:40 AM
rchavez rchavez 目前線上
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 25
Default

Should I be dosing more Zeostart 3 daily?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (1 members and 4 guests)
rchavez
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.8.7, Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright by ZeoVit.com