zeovit.com EcoTech Marine LLC  

Go Back   zeovit.com > General Discussion Forums - International > General Discussion - English

General Discussion - English General Marine Aquaria Discussion with and without ZEOVit.

Active Threads
0 Starting Zeovit on a new tank and need some help.
Last Post: Lisavet2000
Posted On: Today
Replies: 45
Views: 2,394
0 Selbstreinigender Zeolithfilter
Last Post: chrima78
Posted On: Today
Replies: 15
Views: 1,497
0 What is this algae and how to get rid of
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: Today
Replies: 57
Views: 3,305
0 New to Zeovit
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: Today
Replies: 1
Views: 55
0 The Dreaded Dino and Zeovit Paradox
Last Post: iamchadster
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 11
Views: 398
0 Cloudy Water
Last Post: jpukla
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 14
Views: 769
0 New to the forum hybrid zeovit
Last Post: Da8
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 6
Views: 202
0 NEW Video & Contest: Aqamai KPS Pump
Last Post: Premiumaq
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 0
Views: 24
0 NEW VID & GIVEAWAY: Finnex LED Nano Reef Tank Lighting
Last Post: Premiumaq
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 1
Views: 61
0 My 5 years tank - Help starting ZEOvit
Last Post: Strazz
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 35
Views: 1,228
More...
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-25-2017, 03:39 AM
Yondan68 Yondan68 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 43
Default Dosing

Hi All
I have a few questions I have a vertex RX-Z 1.5 reactor that has a dosing port on top can I dose my zeobac and zeostart straight in to the dosing port ?as the port that the water leaving the reactor back into the sump is right next to the dosing port? Also when I got my starter kit it came with some zeofood7 should I be dosing this also or not dose this as my tank is a year old and I'm changing it over to Zeovit .final question do I need to keep zeobac refrigerated once open.Sorry for all the question just want to get it right .
Yondan68
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-25-2017, 11:38 PM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 33,940
Default

It does not make much sense to use the port, I would dose in the same sump camber which holds your reactor pump just dose behind the skimmer.

ZeoFood can be used later, for the start just ZeoBac, ZeoStart and optional SpongePower are used. If you like to get a dosing recommendation please post some more details about your system:

http://www.zeovit.com/forums/showthread.php?t=14

ZeoBac can be stored in the fridge:

http://www.zeovit.com/forums/showpos...33&postcount=4

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-26-2017, 08:07 AM
Yondan68 Yondan68 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 43
Default Dosing

Hi G Alexander
Thanks for your reply I have already got a dosing recommendation from you as I posted my tank information on the forum 2 weeks ago.
Currently dosing 3 drops of zeobac x1 a day
And 0.25 ml of zeostart x2 a day
Pumping reactor 2x a day
Flow through reactor is 248 ltr per hour 3 hours on 3 hours off
Total system volume inc sump is 332 /ltrs (73 uk gallons )
Only got my zeolite reactor running 3 days ago
Many thanks Karl
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-26-2017, 11:43 PM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 33,940
Default

Sounds good Karl, just missed this.

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-01-2017, 12:02 PM
Yondan68 Yondan68 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 43
Default

Hi
G Alexander I have just tested my tank after 9 days of running zeovit reactor I have halted the dose on the Redsea Nopox from 15 ml per day to 7 ml per day which is roughly 50% like you told me to do. I tested today and my Nitrate is still 5 ppm but my phosphate has climbed from 0.08 to 0.12 on my Hannah checkers I take it that this is due to lowering my Nopox dose and my zeo reactor not yet being fully Seeded with bacteria ?
My KH seems stable at 6.7 ( may be a little low )
My calcium is 460 ppm ( slightly high. )
My mag is. 1500 ppm. (To high. )
I'm having trouble lowering my mag due to the salt I'm using for water changes being high in mag for some reason it's tropic Marin pro reef which I usually have no problem with
Many thanks karl
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-01-2017, 11:05 PM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 33,940
Default

Hello Karl, your theory is what I think also. ZeoVit does need some time before it does start to process nutrients effective. Lets keep the NoPox dosage as it is at the moment and redo a PO4 test in a couple of days.

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-04-2017, 06:46 PM
Yondan68 Yondan68 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 43
Default

Ok sounds good thanks g Alexander
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-06-2017, 06:22 PM
Yondan68 Yondan68 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 43
Default

Hi G Alexander I have now been running my reactor for 3 hours on 3 hours off for a period of 2 weeks my po4 has climbed slightly higher again from 0.12 to 0.13 and my no3 is 5ppm should I now run the reactor continuos ? And reduce the dosage of zeo bac from every day to twice per week and continue dosing 0.25 ml of zeostart twice per day every day ?or continue as I am with the 3 off 3 on regime.
Thanks Karl
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-07-2017, 04:16 AM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 33,940
Default

Hello Karl, I recommend to start running the reactor with continuous flow about 2 weeks after the first ZeoVit exchange if all corals are doing fine. Make sure to have the correct flow at the reactor than. Lets keep the ZeoStart dosage as it is and reduce ZeoBac to 2 – 3 x weekly if the first 2 weeks have passed already.

First ZeoVit exchange will be after 4 weeks, replace 90% of the material and keep about 10% of the old material in the reactor. After the exchange dose ZeoBac daily for 10 days.

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-08-2017, 10:26 AM
Yondan68 Yondan68 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 43
Default

Hi G Alexander thanks for your information I will do this.Can I now start adding any other zeovit products I would like to try the coral vitaliser and sponge power I also already have a bottle is zeofood 7 when would you recommend me to start dosing this as I have a few lps in my system like Acans/ Blastomussa/ and Euphyllia. Or could RO recommend any other zeo adatives I should try .
Thanks again for you time and information it's much appreciated
Karl
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-08-2017, 11:23 PM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 33,940
Default

You can dose 3 drops SpongePower every other day additional and 6 drops CoralVitalizer 2 x weekly. Lets hold ZeoFood at the moment.

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-09-2017, 05:04 AM
Yondan68 Yondan68 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 43
Default

Ok thank you
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-29-2017, 10:09 AM
Yondan68 Yondan68 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 43
Default

Hi
G Alexander I have done my first zeovit change out I changed 90% of the zeolites and put the small zeolites in a mesh bag in the reactor on top of the large zeolites I am dosing zeo bac for the next 10 days at 3 drops per day and zeostart at 0.25ml twice a day am and pm my nitrates don't seem to be coming down they are currently st 25ppm and my phosphate is now at 0.44 on my Hannah checker I do have quite a few fish I'm my system 4 tangs 1 coral beauty 2 clowns 4 chromis and a sulphur goby so this may be the reason why my levels are not falling I am dosing sponge power 3 times per week at 3 drops and cv 2 times a week at 6 drops should I continue with what I'm doing or do I need to change anything ?
Thanks
Karl
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-29-2017, 11:59 PM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 33,940
Default

Hello Karl, difficult to say as I do not know the sizes of the fishes. Your dosing regimen is still fine, the reactor is running with continuous flow already ?

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-30-2017, 06:31 AM
Yondan68 Yondan68 目前離線
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 43
Default

Hi
G Alexander my reactor is still running 3 on 3 off as I thought I still had to run it like this until 2 weeks after my first zeolite change out ll my corals except for my motipota forest fire look good the Monti has not got full polyp extension but the rest logo good with good polyp extension
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.8.7, Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright by ZeoVit.com