zeovit.com EcoTech Marine LLC  

Go Back   zeovit.com > Equipment Forums > Reactors

Reactors This forum is for ZeovitReaktors/CaCO2 Reaktors etc.

Active Threads
0 Zeovit - brown bottom
Last Post: jluk
Posted On: Today
Replies: 0
Views: 3
0 Wechsel auf Zeovit - Werte zu hoch
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: Today
Replies: 3
Views: 68
0 Using Zeolites only, no dosing
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: Today
Replies: 6
Views: 157
0 new to zeovit
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: Today
Replies: 17
Views: 773
0 Phosphate in Zeo Life
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: Today
Replies: 1
Views: 40
0 Increase in PO4 and Nitrates
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: Today
Replies: 6
Views: 152
0 Growth
Last Post: Dzeo
Posted On: Today
Replies: 8
Views: 263
0 Planning Things Out
Last Post: ohashimz
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 9
Views: 269
0 New* Zeovit Guide Easy Reefing ENGLISH !
Last Post: ohashimz
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 4
Views: 408
0 A restart
Last Post: blackizzz
Posted On: Yesterday
Replies: 3
Views: 112
More...
  #1  
Old 04-05-2018, 12:58 AM
Khuz Khuz 目前線上
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 32
Default Deltec zeoreactor with KZ stones

Hello all,

I've been using the Deltec ZA 616 automatic zeo reactor for over a year with the d&d zeolite media. I find it is not lowering my nutrients efficiently plus it's a PITA to clean on exchange of stones.

My question is, I would like to try the KZ stones in the same reactor.
Has anyone had any experience using them in this Deltec reactor?

I've asked D&D and Deltec but both never got back to me. (This is couple of months ago).

Thank you.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-05-2018, 01:05 AM
ohashimz ohashimz 目前線上
ZEOhead
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 347
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khuz View Post
Hello all,

I've been using the Deltec ZA 616 automatic zeo reactor for over a year with the d&d zeolite media. I find it is not lowering my nutrients efficiently plus it's a PITA to clean on exchange of stones.

My question is, I would like to try the KZ stones in the same reactor.
Has anyone had any experience using them in this Deltec reactor?

I've asked D&D and Deltec but both never got back to me. (This is couple of months ago).

Thank you.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
My advice is to invest in prs auto zeo reactor. The best investment I did in my tank.
Tried avast vibe and vortex. Both was waste of money for me. The prs have so much piece of mind it was awesome

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-05-2018, 01:06 AM
bubblemytip bubblemytip 目前線上
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 49
Default

Done it with the 509. The pump wasnt strong enough to really get good mulm but could always swap out for a larger pump given that the plumbing is pretty standard.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-05-2018, 01:07 AM
bubblemytip bubblemytip 目前線上
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 49
Default

Other option would be something like the Knepo automatic reactor.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-05-2018, 01:07 AM
ohashimz ohashimz 目前線上
ZEOhead
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 347
Default

As for the kz zeolites, to get the full potential of zeovit I would use the zeovit system with its 4 basics elements. Zeolit, zb,zs,sp and carbon.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-05-2018, 01:09 AM
ohashimz ohashimz 目前線上
ZEOhead
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 347
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bubblemytip View Post
Other option would be something like the Knepo automatic reactor.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Is this zeovit compatible? Never heard of it

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-05-2018, 01:57 AM
Khuz Khuz 目前線上
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bubblemytip View Post
Done it with the 509. The pump wasnt strong enough to really get good mulm but could always swap out for a larger pump given that the plumbing is pretty standard.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
What are you using at the moment? When you used the kzstones, how did they compare with the Deltec stones? Besides size.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-05-2018, 02:03 AM
bubblemytip bubblemytip 目前線上
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ohashimz View Post
Is this zeovit compatible? Never heard of it

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk


Its just a brand of reactor or tool to use zeovit. Dont see how its not compatible.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-05-2018, 02:08 AM
bubblemytip bubblemytip 目前線上
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khuz View Post
What are you using at the moment? When you used the kzstones, how did they compare with the Deltec stones? Besides size.


No longer running zeovit but I went from using a mix of the deltec and the KZ stones to just the KZ stones. I never used just the deltec stones as I had read that the KZ stones generated better results. The mixture worked pretty well. The small stones would blast up against the larger stones, helping to dislodge some mulm. But some stratification of the stones over time would reduce this effect.

I didnt notice much of a difference going to just KZ stones. The only reason I did so was due to ease of cleaning and being unable to source the deltec stones in New Zealand.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-05-2018, 09:21 AM
ohashimz ohashimz 目前線上
ZEOhead
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 347
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bubblemytip View Post
Its just a brand of reactor or tool to use zeovit. Dont see how its not compatible.
I understand it's just a reactor. I meant is it build for zeovit where you can shake the stones to clean them, the water enter the reactor from below to exit from above to make sure water go through the stons...etc.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-05-2018, 12:37 PM
Pandy Pandy 目前離線
Almost a ZEOhead
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 111
Default

I used the KZ stones, as well as Fauna Marin stones, in my ZA-509 and I always found it didnt clean them well enough, so much so that the stones were physically dirty nearing the swap out time. In the end I took the reactor offline and went back to a manual one.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-05-2018, 01:01 PM
bubblemytip bubblemytip 目前線上
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ohashimz View Post
I understand it's just a reactor. I meant is it build for zeovit where you can shake the stones to clean them, the water enter the reactor from below to exit from above to make sure water go through the stons...etc.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk


Yes. You can google it and look at it for yourself. Search knepo zeolithfilter. There are several pictures and models available that might suit your needs/space constraints including manual options. Im merely providing an alternative that might be worth you looking into. I dont think I am allowed to post a link directly.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-05-2018, 01:16 PM
ohashimz ohashimz 目前線上
ZEOhead
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 347
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bubblemytip View Post
Yes. You can google it and look at it for yourself. Search knepo zeolithfilter. There are several pictures and models available that might suit your needs/space constraints including manual options. Im merely providing an alternative that might be worth you looking into. I dont think I am allowed to post a link directly.
Thank you very helpful. When I first googled I I did not get meaningful results. Now am set...thanks again

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-05-2018, 01:18 PM
ohashimz ohashimz 目前線上
ZEOhead
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 347
Default

Design is awesome I like how you can does directly to the reactor design. I do not see however how can you shake the rocks..maybe pic is not clear. Can you shake the rocks with this reactor?

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (1 members and 2 guests)
Khuz
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.8.7, Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright by ZeoVit.com