zeovit.com EcoTech Marine LLC  

Go Back   zeovit.com > General Discussion Forums - International > General Discussion - English

General Discussion - English General Marine Aquaria Discussion with and without ZEOVit.

Active Threads
0 Flatworm stop bottoming out PO4?
Last Post: c3hutson
Posted On: Today
Replies: 2
Views: 72
0 Brown/Rust Colored Algae After Dosing ZeoBac and ZeoFood
Last Post: Seth008
Posted On: Today
Replies: 5
Views: 145
0 The journey starts 12.09.17
Last Post: FraysReef
Posted On: Today
Replies: 10
Views: 270
10 My new "Texas 210 Gallon"
Last Post: johntekin
Posted On: Today
Replies: 2
Views: 62
0 The Island Reef
Last Post: mefisto
Posted On: Today
Replies: 109
Views: 14,879
0 changing from FM to Zeovit
Last Post: Lowefx
Posted On: Today
Replies: 202
Views: 7,903
0 my new thank....
Last Post: blueyedson
Posted On: Today
Replies: 100
Views: 5,851
0 stocking a new tank day10 onwards
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: Today
Replies: 4
Views: 103
0 adding Zeovit in stablish tank
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: Today
Replies: 5
Views: 122
0 New sps tank
Last Post: G.Alexander
Posted On: Today
Replies: 20
Views: 434
More...
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 03-03-2017, 05:01 PM
chrisevich chrisevich 目前線上
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: 英国
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G.Alexander View Post
Thank you for the link, looks like they are not able to offer a meter for NO3, their official site does also not list such a meter:

http://blog.hannainst.com/digital-wa...ater-aquariums

G.Alexander
Hey Alexander,

will the wet skimmer get rid of start3?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-03-2017, 10:56 PM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 33,503
Default

Not sure about the question, basically all dosing should be done behind the skimmer not in front of.

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-04-2017, 05:32 PM
chrisevich chrisevich 目前線上
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: 英国
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G.Alexander View Post
Not sure about the question, basically all dosing should be done behind the skimmer not in front of.

G.Alexander
hey, Alexander

A new update, I tested the RO unit I got. The tds value was 1, but after a while I tested the water in the container, it became 52!. Is that the reason causes my nutrient problem? And do I need to buy a new container ?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-04-2017, 05:36 PM
chrisevich chrisevich 目前線上
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: 英国
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisevich View Post
hey, Alexander

A new update, I tested the RO unit I got. The tds value was 1, but after a while I tested the water in the container, it became 52!. Is that the reason causes my nutrient problem? And do I need to buy a new container ?

Thanks.
Btw the container was used to keep salt water. If the nitrate and phosphate r zero, then the water is still ok?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-04-2017, 11:39 PM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 33,503
Default

If there are some remains of the salt it will have such a impact to the RO result. Also make sure that there is not a slimy substance (bacteria) on the walls of the holding container.

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 03-05-2017, 04:06 PM
triscene triscene 目前線上
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G.Alexander View Post
Thank you for the link, looks like they are not able to offer a meter for NO3, their official site does also not list such a meter:

http://blog.hannainst.com/digital-wa...ater-aquariums

G.Alexander
Yes, i found also this on their page.


A: Unfortunately the chloride in saltwater will interfere with the nitrate chemistry. Chloride above 100 mg/L will cause a negative
interference (read lower). We do not recommend the HI96728 for measuring nitrate in saltwater.

So i will probably pass the meter

Odoslan z D5503 pomocou Tapatalku
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-11-2017, 05:24 PM
chrisevich chrisevich 目前線上
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: 英国
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G.Alexander View Post
First of all I would recommend to cross check the NO3 level with a different test kit to make sure yours is working well.

Adjust your skimmer to skim wet and clean it daily for some time.

Additional vacuum the sand regular with each water change.

Lets continue dosing as follows:

1 drop bak every other day
0.1*2 ml zeostart3 daily
10 ml zeolife 2 x weekly
zeozym 2 x weekly
biomate 2 drops daily
1 drop sponge power daily

You can use this dosing regimen for the next 2 week, than please report back if you notice any decrease of nutrients.

G.Alexander
Dear alex,
Do I need to remove all sand or just the deep area. I have gradually removed 1/4 sand of my task. In these two weeks, the nitrate seems stable, and gradually drops to a little bit below 50. And I did 35liters water change today. Nitrate immediately dropped to below 25. I will check tmr morning. Consider I don't have delicate coral in my tank, I am considering doing another 1/3 water change tmr. Do you think that is helpful for lowing the nitrate?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-11-2017, 10:55 PM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 33,503
Default

If you do not keep delicate corals it might be the best to replace the sand completely. My recommendation is a shallow sandbed (~ 3 – 4 cm) with well soaked aragonite (grain size ~ 2 – 4 mm). After the change you might experience some kind of brown film but this does usually disappear after some days.

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-12-2017, 02:32 AM
chrisevich chrisevich 目前線上
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: 英国
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G.Alexander View Post
If you do not keep delicate corals it might be the best to replace the sand completely. My recommendation is a shallow sandbed (~ 3 4 cm) with well soaked aragonite (grain size ~ 2 4 mm). After the change you might experience some kind of brown film but this does usually disappear after some days.

G.Alexander
hey,

Thanks for that, I will remove them tonight. Is the sand bed the main source to release no3? I tested the nitrate this morning, it goes back to 50 again. Will do another 40%water change today and see.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5844.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	31.5 KB
ID:	19884  
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03-12-2017, 03:02 PM
chrisevich chrisevich 目前線上
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: 英国
Posts: 71
Default

new update. 50% water change has done, and 80% sand bed has been removed. Nitrate drops to around 25 ppm immediately, but i know it will come back tmr. Anymore adjustment i should do? or just wait and see?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03-13-2017, 02:16 AM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 33,503
Default

Not much you can do at the moment, just continue as planned, maybe skimming more wet for a while and cleaning the skimmer daily to export as much as possible is something you can do additional.

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-13-2017, 05:56 AM
chrisevich chrisevich 目前線上
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: 英国
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G.Alexander View Post
Not much you can do at the moment, just continue as planned, maybe skimming more wet for a while and cleaning the skimmer daily to export as much as possible is something you can do additional.

G.Alexander
Thanks Alexander,

I tested the nitrate this morning, it is exactly 25 didn't go back as usual. I guess the sand bed was releasing it constantly. I would like to know when I could add new sand into my tank. I'm worried about removing this sand bed I will destroy the bacteria system
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-14-2017, 01:40 AM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 33,503
Default

Most important thing is to soak the new material very well until it does not leach PO4 anymore, than you can keep the 20% of old sand you have adding the new material. A couple of weeks later you can remove the rest of the old sand and replace it.

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 03-14-2017, 04:29 AM
chrisevich chrisevich 目前線上
ZEOhead in Training
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: 英国
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G.Alexander View Post
Most important thing is to soak the new material very well until it does not leach PO4 anymore, than you can keep the 20% of old sand you have adding the new material. A couple of weeks later you can remove the rest of the old sand and replace it.

G.Alexander
when i place the sand bed, could i add extra zeobak to my tank?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 03-15-2017, 01:49 AM
G.Alexander's Avatar
G.Alexander G.Alexander 目前離線
ZEOadmin
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 33,503
Default

You can dose ZeoBac daily for a couple of days additional.

G.Alexander
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.8.7, Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright by ZeoVit.com